Grazing Specialists

Grazing Specialists are here to help you get started grazing and/or improve your grazing practices.

Because Managed Grazing provides so many environmental services, state and federal agencies charged with protecting natural resources have grazing specialists on staff to assist farmers who are interested in improving their pasture management. Federal grazing specialists at Natural Resources Conservation Services (USDA-NRCS), for example, operate locally in every state and it is their job to provide farmers with free technical assistance. They are available to visit pastures, make recommendations and help create a blueprint for seeding, fencing, waterlines and lanes. They answer questions, provide support and are invaluable sources of information about managing pasture and livestock for optimum production and profit. Be sure to ask your NRCS agent about cost sharing available for implementing and improving rotational grazing systems under the “managed grazing 528 practice standard.”

  • USDA-NRCS
  • County Land Conservation Departments
  • Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D) Council
  • Private Consultants
  • Non-Profit Organization

USDA-NRCS
Northwest: Richard Zirk, Altoona
715-832-6547 ext.112; rick.zirk@wi.usda.gov

Northeast: Vacant

Southwest: Vacant

Statewide/ Southeast: Brian Pillsbury, Baraboo
608-355-4470; brian.pillsbury@wi.usda.gov

County Land Conservation Departments

Ashland: Tim Mika 715-682-7187 Counties: Ashland, Bayfield, and Iron

Sauk: 608-355-3245

Taylor: Robert Brandt: 715-748-1469 or cell 715-965-6771 grazingbob@gmail.com
Counties: Clark, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor

Vernon: Jim Munsch 608-637-5480 or Ben Wojahn: 608-637-5480; bwojahn@vernoncounty.org

Lincoln, Marathon: Paul Daigle 715-261-6006; padaigle@mail.co.marathon.wi.us

Columbia: 608-742-9670

Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D) Council
Glacierland RC&D
Penny Mueller: 920-664-5858; mgoe@glacierlandrcd.org

Molly Meyers: 920-680-6484; mgc@glacierlandrcd.org
Counties: Brown, Calumet, Door, Fond du Lac, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Oneida Nation, Outagamie, Sheboygan and Winnebago

River Country RC&D
Brian Brezinski: 715-579-2206; brian@rivercountryrcd.org
Counties: Pierce, Pepin, St Croix, and Dunn

Mary Anderson: 715-538-4379, maryc@rivercountryrcd.org
Counties: Buffalo, Eau Claire, Jackson, and Trempealeau

Randy Gilbertson: 715-520-2112; northwestgraziers@gmail.com
or
Lynn Johnson: lynnjohnson@amerytel.net
Counties: Polk, Barron, Rusk, Sawyer, Washburn, & Burnett

Southwest Badger RC&D
Dennis Rooney
: 608-874-4239, dennis.rooney@ces.uwex.edu
Counties: Crawford, Grant, La Crosse, Richland, Vernon

Robert Bauer: 608-732-1202, robert.bauer@swbadger.org
Counties: Crawford, Dane, Green, Grant, Iowa, Lafayette, Richland, Sauk