Grazing Specialists

Grazing Specialists are here to help you get started grazing and/or improve your grazing practices.

Because Managed Grazing provides so many environmental services, state and federal agencies charged with protecting natural resources have grazing specialists on staff to assist farmers who are interested in improving their pasture management. Federal grazing specialists at Natural Resources Conservation Services (USDA-NRCS), for example, operate locally in every state and it is their job to provide farmers with free technical assistance. They are available to visit pastures, make recommendations and help create a blueprint for seeding, fencing, waterlines and lanes. They answer questions, provide support and are invaluable sources of information about managing pasture and livestock for optimum production and profit. Be sure to ask your NRCS agent about cost sharing available for implementing and improving rotational grazing systems under the "managed grazing 528 practice standard."

  • USDA-NRCS
  • County Land Conservation Departments
  • Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D) Council
  • Private Consultants
  • Non-Profit Organization

Grazing Specialists Statewide

NRCS

Statewide: Adam Abel, State Grazing Specialist -interim, (715) 467‐1037 adam.abel@wi.usda.gov

Northwest: Brian Briski, (715) 701‐2960 brian.briski@usda.gov

Southwest: Brian Hillers, (608) 219‐7344 brian.hillers@usda.gov

Southeast: Thelma Heidel-Baker, (262) 622-2109 thelma.heidelbaker@usda.gov

Central-west: Josh Odekirk, (262) 470‐2064 josh.odekirk@usda.gov

Central-east: Derrick Raspor, (920) 740-5810  derrick.raspor@usda.gov

County

Columbia: Todd Rietmann, (608) 742-9675 todd.rietmann@co.columbia.wi.us

Dane: Marie Raboin, (608-630-3325) raboin.marie@countyofdane.com

Marathon: Bill Kolodziej, (715) 581-1125 william.Kolodziej@co.marathon.wi.us

Sauk: Serge Koenig, serge.koenig@saukcountywi.gov

Vernon: Ben Wojahn, (608) 637-5482 or Jim Munsch (608) 637-5480 jmunsch@mwt.net

UW Extension

Gene Schriefer, Dodgeville (608) 930-9850 gene.schriefer@wisc.edu

Randy Zogbaum, Madison randy.zogbaum@wisc.edu

Dr. Yoana Newman, UW-River Falls yoana.newman@uwrf.edu

Resource Conservations & Development Councils (RC&Ds)

Glacierland RC&D: (920) 465-3006

Golden Sands RC&D: (715) 343-6215

River Country RC&D: (715) 579-4916

Technical Service Providers

Rachel Bouressa, New London, WI: rachel.bouressa@goldensandsrcd.org

Michael Gehl, Hartford, WI: (262) 689-6689 mikegehl3@gmail.com

Randy Gilbertson, Shell Lake, WI: burroaks12@centurytel.net

Kelly Jacobs, Fall Creek, WI: kelly.Jacobs@weswi.com

Lynn Johnson, Turtle Lake, WI: (715) 225-9882, lynnjohnson@amerytel.net

Marie Raboin, Barneveld, WI: (608-630-3325) raboin.marie@countyofdane.com

Haly Schultz, Neillsville: hb28_uwrf@yahoo.com

Wally Sedlar, Fremont, WI: wallysedlar@live.com

Grazing Network Coordinators

Northwest Graziers: Lynn Johnson (715) 225-9882, lynnjohnson@amerytel.net

Southeast WI Graziers: Kirsten Jurcek (920) 342-9504, kjurcek1@centurytel.net

Southwest WI Graziers: Gene Schriefer (608) 930-9850, gene.schriefer@wisc.edu

Central Wisconsin River Graziers: Bill Kolodziej (715) 261-6038, william.kolodziej@co.marathon.wi.us

Great River Graziers Network: Vance Haugen (608) 326-0223, vjhaugen@gmail.com

Coulee Graziers Network: Jamie Pfaff (715) 284-4257 ext 4, jamie.pfaff@wisc.edu

or Steve Kling (715) 662-5053

River Country Grazing Network: Linda Luberda (715) 579-4916, linda@rivercountryrcd.org

or Kevin Mahalko (715) 225-9879, kevin.mahalko@yahoo.com

Columbia-Dodge-Sauk Grazing Network: George Koepp (608) 742-9682, george.koepp@wisc.edu or Todd Rietmann todd.rietmann@co.columbia.wi.us or

Serge Koening (608) 355-4837, serge.koenig@saucountywi.gov

Central Wisco Graziers Network: Derrick Raspor (920) 740-5810, derrick.raspor@usda.gov

or Rachel Bouressa (608) 228-6617, rachel.bouressa@gldensandsrcd.org- see the Grazing Networks page for more information: https://grassworks.org/resources/grazing-networks/

 

Additional Resources

Northeast: Aaron Pape, Northeast Technical College, aaron.pape@nwtc.edu
Northwest: Robert Brandt, 715-965-6771 grazingbob@gmail.com

Southwest: Cherrie Nolden: multi-species grazing experience, wonderacres@yahoo.com

Statewide: Mary C. Anderson, WI DNR, (715) 579-2206 maryC2.Anderson@wisconsin.gov